Research Databases

Current Trials

Dates Indicate Trial Period

  • Wed., July 01, 2009 to Wed., June 30, 2010: Research Starters - Sociology
    Comprehensive, yet concise topic summary articles of about 3,000 words in length written by researchers, scholars and other subject matter experts.
  • Mon., Oct. 19, 2009 to Fri., Jan. 29, 2010: SpringerMaterials
    Based on Landolt-Börnstein, the unique and top-quality data collection in all areas of physical sciences and engineering. [User Guide]
  • Thu, Nov 05, 2009 to Fri, Dec 04, 2009: ATLA Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1
    Contains the full-text of titles from the 13th Century through the 1893 World Parliament of Religions with the majority of titles from the 19th century.

A

18th Century Collections Online

Digital texts of books published in England in several languages between 1701-1800
Format: Full-text digital page images
Publication Dates: 1701 - 1800
Additional Information: Digital texts in the areas of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science, biography, etc. Coverage from a variety of materials -- including books and broadsides, Bibles, tract books and sermons to printed ephemera -- with works by many well-known and lesser-known authors, women, and collections from the French Revolution.

19th Century U.S. Newspapers

Collections of 19th century newspapers from Alaska to Wyoming
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 1800 - 1900

19th Century UK Periodicals

Over 100 magazine titles covering topics on culture and history from around the British Empire
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 1800 - 1900

ABI-Inform

Scholarly index of business literature
Format: Citations and full-text
Publication Dates: 1980s - present; varies by title
Additional Information: Contains millions of well-indexed articles in over 1800 different sources.

Academic Search Complete

Scholarly, multi-disciplinary resource containing many peer-reviewed journals
Format: Abstracts and full-text for most journal articles
Publication Dates: Varies by title ¿ many from 1980s-present
Additional Information: A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary resource containing a large number of peer-reviewed journals. Information is included from many areas of academic study. This is good place to start for most topics, including all sciences, religion, law, history, psychology, political science, criminal justice, literature, current events, sociology and communications.

ACM Digital Library

Resources from the Association for Computing Machinery
Format: Citations, abstracts, reviews, and some full-text
Publication Dates: Last 50 years
Additional Information: Provides access to the core works on computing from the Association for Computing Machinery.

Access Science

Encyclopedia and dictionary of science
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: Most recent edition
Additional Information: Provides full search capabilities of the most recent McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology. Includes all definitions from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms, news articles from Science News, research updates from the Yearbook of Science and Technology, and biographies from Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography.

ACLS Humanities E-Book

Full-text collection of scholarly books in many areas of the humanities
Format: Full-text books
Publication Dates: Varies - includes both out-of-print and current titles
Additional Information: Full-text collection of scholarly books in many areas of the humanities.

Accessible Archives

American newspapers of the 18th and 19th centuries
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 1728 - 1899
Additional Information: Primarily American newspapers from the 18th and 19th century, including important African-American newspapers. Includes the Pennsylvania Gazette and Godey's Lady's Book.

Accounting & Tax Database

Scholarly, trade and news reports for accounting and tax topics
Format: Citations, abstracts, and full-text
Publication Dates: 1971 - present
Additional Information: Accounting and tax publications with official releases from the AICPA and FASB and selective indexing of tax-related information in business journals

Accounting Research Manager

Comprehensive database of accounting and auditing information
Format: Full-text documents
Publication Dates: 1963 - present
Additional Information: Locate and search across authoritative, proposal-stage, and non-authoritative accounting and auditing standards from the AICPA, SEC, PCAOB, GAO, OBM and IASB, as well as secondary analysis from the Big Four and the Miller Guides. All the content is cross-referenced, including cites to FASB pronouncements.

Acronyms, Initialisms, & Abbreviations

Dictionary of acronyms, abbreviations, initialisms, and contractions in all subject areas
Format: Full-text dictionary entries
Publication Dates: 2005; 35th edition
Additional Information: Provides definitions of a wide variety of acronyms, initialisms, abbreviations and similar contractions, translating them into their full names or meanings. Terms from subject areas such as associations, education, the Internet, medicine and others are included.

Ad$pender

Provides data on what manufacturers and service providers are spending on advertising & promotion, as well as the media in which they are spending it
Format: Data and reports
Additional Information: Password required - contact the Main Service Desk

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998

Provide access to U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 1827 - 1998
Additional Information: Part of the America's Historical Newspapers collection, this resource features papers from more than 35 states — including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles. Offers researchers valuable primary sources for such diverse disciplines as cultural, literary and social history; ethnic studies and more. Users can compare and contrast African American views on practically every major theme of the American past.

African American Poetry

Full-text of over 2,500 poems by African American poets
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 1760 - 1930

Almanac of Virginia Politics

Annual statistics on Virginia campaign contributions, economic interests, legislative agendas, tracking key votes, and state legislators and government officials.
Format: Full text articles and statistics from the Almanac
Publication Dates: 2003
Additional Information: This annual publication examines the legislative sessions of the Virginia General Assembly, which meets each year between January and March. The online version provides a factual and current look at the legislative districts and the present roster of political actors, how they got there, and what they are doing.

Alternative Press Index

Index to materials found in underground press publications
Format: Abstracts with some full-text
Publication Dates: 1991 - present
Additional Information: Includes information on cultural, economic, political & social issues from alternative, radical and leftist news resources.

Alt HealthWatch

Provides perspectives on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: Abstracts: 1984 - present; Full-text: 1990 - present
Additional Information: Offers articles from nearly 200 international journals (some peer-reviewed)  and reports on complementary, holistic and alternative medicine.  Includes pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.

Alt-Press Watch

Database of articles from alternative & independent presses
Format: Full Text
Publication Dates: Varies
Additional Information: Comprised of articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press.

America: History & Life

Indexes articles on the history of the United States and Canada
Format: Abstracts of articles, dissertations, and reviews of historical literature
Publication Dates: 1954 - present
Additional Information: Comprehensive index to journal articles and book reviews for United States and Canada history. Historical coverage from America's Pre-Columbian period to the present.

American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries

Multinational business contact information
Format: Directory listings
Additional Information: Information about American firms with substatial investment in overseas operations wholly or partially owned subsidaries, affilate, or branch.

American Founding Era

Includes the writings and correspondance of John Adams, Abigail Adams, John Qunicy Adams, and Dolly Madison
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: Varies by collection

American National Biography

Biographical sketches of famous Americans
Format: Full-text, illustrations, and bibliographies
Additional Information: Biographies of people significant in U.S. history who died before 1996.

American Poetry

Full-text of works of the most influential American poets
Format: Full-text of poems
Publication Dates: 17th century to about 1900
Additional Information: Over 40,000 poems by American poets

American Song

Historical American music in a variety of genres
Format: Streaming audio with text
Publication Dates: 1909 - present
Additional Information: Streaming access to over 18,000 tracks of historical American music in a variety of genres.

Ancestry Library Edition

Genealogy database with more than 1.5 billion names from 1790-1930
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 2005 - present
Additional Information: U.S. and British census and immigration records; historical maps and photographs. Based on the Ancestry.Com genealogy database.

Annual Reviews Online

Literature reviews prepared annually providing an overview of primary research material in 29 focused disciplines within the Biological, Medical, Physical, and Social Sciences
Format: Electronic access to the reviews with links into Medline and Web of Knowledge from the bibliographies
Publication Dates: Full-text: 1996 - present; Table of Contents: 1986-1995
Additional Information: Literature reviews prepared annually providing an overview of primary research material in 29 focused disciplines within the Biological, Medical, Physical, and Social Sciences.

Anthropology Plus

Combines Harvard University's Anthropological Journal articles and research literature related to anthropology and archaeology
Format: Abstracts with some linked full-text
Publication Dates: Late 1800's - present
Additional Information: Combines two major indexes: Harvard University's Anthropological Literature database and the United Kingdom's Anthropological Index. Provides extensive international coverage of all fields related to anthropology.

AnthroSource

American Anthropological Association publications
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: Late 1800's - present
Additional Information: Current issues of 15 peer-reviewed AAA journals, as well as full archival access to all AAA publications through JSTOR.

AP Images

Photos and images from The Associated Press and its partner companies
Format: Photographs, prints, graphics, audio and text
Publication Dates: Coverage back to the 1800s, primary coverage late 20th century-present
Additional Information: Excellent resource for illustrations, copyright free for educational use. Can search by concept (hostages) as well as specific people or events (Einstein).

Armed Conflict Database

Analysis on current and recent conflicts throughout the world
Format: Full-text and interactive maps
Publication Dates: Varies
Additional Information: Covers international & internal conflicts and terrorist acts, including historical backgrounds, timelines, refugees, fatalities and weapons used.

Art Full-Text

International collection of publications, including new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism
Format: Citations, abstracts, and full-text for selected periodicals
Publication Dates: Citations: 1929 - present; Abstracts: 1994 - present; Full-text: 1997 - present
Additional Information: International collection of peer-selected publications—with coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.  Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is included.  In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.

ARTbibliographies Modern

Abstracts on all forms of modern and contemporary art
Format: Citations and abstracts
Publication Dates: 1974 - present
Additional Information: Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.

ARTFL

Full-text of French language, literature, culture, and history
Format: Full-text books, encyclopedias
Publication Dates: Earliest texts are from 12th century
Additional Information: Texts from 12th through 20th centuries. Resources for ARTFL subscribers, including the Main ARTFL Database, French Women Writers, Provençal poetry, Journal de Trévoux, full-text dictionary searching and the Opera del Vocabolario Italiano (OVI) Database.

Article First

Listing of the items from the table of contents pages from journals
Format: Citations
Publication Dates: 1990 - present
Additional Information: Index of the items listed on table of contents pages of over 12,000 journals. Coverage includes articles, news stories, and letters on topics including business, humanities, medicine, popular culture, sciences, social sciences, and technology.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index

Articles, letters, and reviews from arts and humanities journals
Format: Citations and abstracts
Publication Dates: 1975 - present
Additional Information: Multidisciplinary resource covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities.

ArtStor

Digital library of images from art, architecture, archaeology, decorative arts and design, and visual culture in general
Format: Images with descriptions
Publication Dates: Varies by collection
Additional Information: Digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. ARTstor collections are comprised of contributions from museums, individual photographers, scholars, special collections at libraries, and photo archives.

American Periodicals Series Online

Digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century
Format: Full-text PDF images of original pages
Publication Dates: 1741 - 1940
Additional Information: The database contains digitized images of periodical pages, allowing researchers to see all of the original typography, drawings, graphic elements, and article layouts exactly as they were originally published.

ATLA Religion Database

A collection of religion and theology journal articles, book reviews, and essays
Format: Citations, abstracts, and full-text (1949 - present)
Publication Dates: 1924 - present
Additional Information: Combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with an online collection of major religion and theology journals.

Audit Analytics

Audit information on accounting firms and publically registered companies
Format: Full-text reports
Additional Information: Audit information for about 20,000 publicly traded firms and 1,500 accounting firms. The data includes information about: current auditors, Sarbanes-Oxley disclosures, compliance disclosures, litigation and corporate governance. Password required - contact the Main Service Desk.

B

Back to top ^

BEOnline

Internet resources of interest to the practice or study of entrepreneurship, small business, and economics
Format: Directory
Additional Information: Identifies sites on business topics by subject or title -- useful for selecting business & economics research topics

Berkley Electronic Press

Full-text access to several online econoimics business journals
Format: Full-text

Bibliography of the History of Art

Indexes articles on European and American art
Format: Citations and abstracts of articles, art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and art exhibition and dealer's catalogs
Publication Dates: 1973 - present
Additional Information: Citations cover European and American fine arts—painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, architecture—as well as decorative and applied arts—crafts, graphic arts, and folk and popular art.

Biography Index Past & Present

Biographical citations for individuals in all subject fields
Format: Citations to interviews, obituaries, collections of letters, diaries, memoirs, juvenile literature, book reviews, bibliographies and exhibition reviews
Publication Dates: 1946 - present
Additional Information: Complete citations to over a 1 million people from the Biography Index.

Biography Reference Bank

Biographical articles of more than 500,000 people
Format: Full-text articles and narrative profiles
Additional Information: Biographical articles of more than 500,000 people and over 30,000 images. Covers numerous historical periods. Includes biographies from Current biography, World Biography series, and over a 100 other major biography reference works.

Biological Abstracts

Indexes biological and other life sciences literature
Format: Citations and abstracts
Publication Dates: 1985 - present
Additional Information: A complete collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,000 international journals. Contains more than 10 million archival records with more than 370,000 citations added each year.

BioOne

Full-text bioscience research journals
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: Varies by title
Additional Information: An electronic aggregation of journals in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.  Approximately 150 titles currently published by scientific societies and other nonprofit organizations.

BizMiner Academic

Industry financial analysis and marketing research reports by industry and size
Format: Research reports
Publication Dates: Current
Additional Information: Provides startup and small business statistics, such as annual sales and market share; failure rates; entrepreneurial activity rates; startup profit & loss detail and ratios; and detailed small business balance sheets, P&L and ratios.

Black Short Fiction

Stories from Africa and the African Diaspora
Format: Full-text (HTML)
Publication Dates: mid-1900s - present
Additional Information: Short fiction and folklore from Africa and the African Diaspora. Includes full runs of selected literary magazines.

Bloomberg Terminal

Monitor and analyze real-time financial market data movements and place trades
Additional Information: Offers information, analysis, research, and pricing of the marketplace, as well as current and historical articles about global business and economic markets. Available only in the Business School.

Book Review Digest Plus

Indexes book reviews of adult and children's fiction and nonfiction
Format: Book summaries, bibliographic data, full-text reviews, review excerpts, and basic citations
Publication Dates: 1983 - present
Additional Information: Over 100,000 reviews of fiction and non-fiction books.

Books in Print

Lists books available for purchase through bookstores
Format: Citations
Publication Dates: Current
Additional Information: Bibliographic information on books in English available in print.

Business Source Complete

Scholarly database providing a collection of bibliographic and full-text content in all disciplines of business
Format: Citations, abstracts, and full-text
Publication Dates: Abstracts: 1886 - present; Full-text: 1990 - present
Additional Information: Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals. Contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.

C

Back to top ^

Cabell's Directories

Current information on publication opportunities in business, education, and psychology journals
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: Most recent edition; published annually
Additional Information: Provides information on style, format, acceptance rates, and topics covered by journals in the fields of business, education, and psychology, in order to assist researchers in selecting the journal most likely to publish his or her work.

Cambridge Histories Online

250 volumes from the renowned Cambridge Histories series
Format: PDF full-text
Publication Dates: 1960 - present
Additional Information: Includes extensive bibliographies.

Catalog of US Government Publications

Index to US government information
Format: Index
Publication Dates: 1976 - present
Additional Information: Catalog of all US federal government information published since 1976.

CCH Human Resource Management

Covers human resources management and personnel topics
Format: Citations, reports, and forms
Additional Information: Contains citations articles and reports about human resources, employment, healthcare, payroll and pension, welfare, safety, OSHA and worker's compensation, and more.

CCH Tax Research

Covers the practice of federal tax management
Format: Forms and documents
Publication Dates: Current
Additional Information: Comprehensive federal, state, and international tax database which includes primary source literature, journals. Treaties, commentaries, topical indexes, practice aids and tools.

CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online

Comprehensive source for research in international politics
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 1991 - present
Additional Information: Research from scholars, research institutes, non-governmental organizations (NGOs) & think-tanks.  Includes information from journals, books, policy briefs & case studies.

Classical Music Library

Over 50,000 audio tracks, from Medieval to contemporary, from choral works to symphonies, operas, and the avant-garde
Format: Streaming audio
Publication Dates: 1905 - 2007
Additional Information: Access is limited to 5 simultaneous users.

Classical Scores Library

Contains many of the most important classical scores and manuscripts, allowing for study and analysis
Format: Scores
Publication Dates: Medieval through the present
Additional Information: Content in the database includes in-copyright material from Boosey and Hawkes and selected material from the University Music Editions microfilm series.

College Catalogs Online

Over 44,000 college catalogs for 2-year, 4-year, graduate, professional and international schools
Format: Complete full-text, cover-to-cover, original page format
Publication Dates: Current, weekly updates
Additional Information: Over 44,000 college catalogs for 2-year, 4-year, graduate, professional and international schools.

Collegian Archive

University of Richmond student newspaper
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 1914 - 2003
Additional Information: The Collegian is the University's student newspaper that has been in publication since 1914. It consists of over 90 volumes and is full text searchable, with the ability to view the article or complete newspaper page.

ComAbstracts

Index to scholarly information in the rhetoric and communication studies fields
Format: Abstracts
Publication Dates: Varies by title
Additional Information: Comprehensive index of academic information on communication studies, discourse research, mass media studies, journalism, speech and argumentation.

Communication & Mass Media Complete

Index to media publications and academic research on media studies and communication studies
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: Varies by title
Additional Information: Thorough resource for research in the media studies and communication studies fields.

Compustat

A guide for analyzing investment opportunities through financial data, company reports, performance graphs, and textual documents
Publication Dates: 1987 - present
Additional Information: Contains fundamental financial, statistical, and market data of active and inactive U.S. and Canadian public companies, specifically those trading in the NYSE, ASE, NASDAQ, OTC, Toronto Stock Exchange, Quebec Stock Exchange, and Montreal Stock Exchange. The database also provides industry composites, aggregates, and indexes, including six S&P indexes. Available only in the Business School.

Computers & Applied Sciences Complete

Research and development in computing and applied sciences
Format: Citations and abstracts with some full-text
Additional Information: Provides access to academic and professional publications on computer theory and systems, new technologies, engineering disciplines, and social & professional context of the computing and applied sciences disciplines.

Computing Reviews

Computer science; information and education technology
Format: Full-text review articles
Publication Dates: 1960 - present
Additional Information: Provides access to current research, theory, and applications in all subdisciplines of computing through critical review of core publications in computing.

Concise Oxford Companion to the Theatre

Covers all aspects of theatre worldwide and throughout the ages
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 1992
Additional Information: Contains entries on theatrical styles, dramatists, performers, directors, theatres, festivals, and technical topics.

Conference Board

Research reports on the latest issues in business management and US and global economics
Format: Full-text research reports; economic indicators and analysis and forecasts
Publication Dates: 1995 - present
Additional Information: The Conference Board is a non-profit business research organization. They conduct research, convene conferences, make forecasts, assess trends, and publish information and analysis about topics related to business.

Congress and the Nation

Acclaimed resource on Congress and its members
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 1945 - 2004
Additional Information: Authoritative resource on Congress including articles, legislative summaries, statistics and reports.

Congressional (Lexis-Nexis)

Definitive index of all Congressional documents
Format: Abstracts with full-text for 1789-1969
Publication Dates: 1789 - present
Additional Information: Index of Congressional hearings, reports, testimony, bills, laws & regulations from the first Congress to the current Congress.

Consumer Health Complete

All areas of health and wellness from mainstream to alternative medicine
Format: Indexing and abstracting with full-text for most articles
Additional Information: Comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. Designed to support the information needs of patients, and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics.

Contemporary Middle East: A Documentary History

Legal & governmental documents and analysis regarding countries of the Middle East region
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 1917 - 2007
Additional Information: Provides primary source documents which shape the region and analysis of the significance of these resources in Middle East policies.

Contemporary Women's Issues

Full-text of resources on gender-related issues
Format: Full-text access to journals, newsletters, reports and pamphlets
Publication Dates: 1992 - present
Additional Information: Extensive international coverage of women's issues in 190 countries.

Contemporary World Music

Contemporary music from all regions of every continent
Format: Streaming audio & video
Publication Dates: mainly 20th & 21st century recordings

Country Watch

Profiles and current events of every country in the world
Format: Full-text, maps, and statistics
Additional Information: Covers historical, economic, environmental, political, investment, news, statistical and background information on each of the world¿s countries.

CQ Almanac

Definitive reference resource for researching the US Congress
Format: Full-text, tables, graphs
Publication Dates: 1946 - most recent edition
Additional Information: Find information on Congress by topic, policy, laws and voting records.

CQ Electronic Library

Search across all CQ products
Format: Full-text, tables, and graphs
Publication Dates: Varies by title

CQ Encyclopedia of American Government

Offers thousands of concise, up-to-date articles about American government
Format: Full-text, government documents, and photos
Publication Dates: 2003 edition
Additional Information: Provides information of the three branches of federal government, biographies, elections, and the Constitution.

CQ Global Researcher

Introductory information on current global affairs from an international perspective
Format: Full-text, tables, and graphs
Publication Dates: 2007 - present
Additional Information: Provides introductory overview information including background, pro/con statements, chronologies, maps and graphs on international topics.

CQ Press Political Reference Suite

Provides policy analysis on government and politics in the US
Format: Full-text, tables, and graphs
Publication Dates: Varies by title
Additional Information: Provides legislative histories and congressional profiles by integrating major CQ Press reference titles.

CQ Researcher

Background information on current, controversial issues
Format: Full-text reports
Publication Dates: 1923 - present; reports published 44 times/year
Additional Information: In-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Complete summaries, pros and cons, bibliographies and background information are included in each report.

CQ Weekly

Major information resource covering in-depth news & analysis of the US Congress
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 1983 - present
Additional Information: Weekly magazine or legislative news and analysis covering events in the US Congress.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics

Data on inorganic and organic substances
Format: Tables and tables of contents
Publication Dates: Most recent edition
Additional Information: Extensive coverage of data on properties of inorganic and organic substances.  Data presented in tables.  Includes structure searching.

Current Index to Statistics

Index to publications in statistics, probability, and related fields
Format: Citations
Publication Dates: Primarily 1975 - present
Additional Information: Provides citations on statistical & probability research methods used by scholars in their research.

D

Back to top ^

Dance in Video

Streaming access to over 150 dance performances and documentaries
Format: Streaming video
Publication Dates: 1955 - 2006
Additional Information: Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. [System Requirements]

Datastream Advance

Provides a broad, in-depth, integrated database of international financial and economic information
Format: Statistics
Additional Information: Contemporary and historical financial numerical database, covering major financial instruments, company fundamentals, equity and fixed income securities and macroeconomic data for 177 countries and 60 markets worldwide. On specific computers in Boatwright Main Library.

Dictionary of National Biography Online

Over 50,000 biographies from the English-speaking world
Format: Full-text articles and photographs
Additional Information: Remarkable people in any walk of life who were connected to the British Isles. Covers numerous historical periods.

Dismal Scientist

International economic news, analysis, and economic indicators
Format: Analyst reports, country guides, and statistics
Publication Dates: 2003 - present
Additional Information: Provides real-time monitoring and detailed economic analysis, economic indicators, and forecasts for the United States and Canada.

Dissertation Abstracts

Index of doctoral dissertations and master's theses from universities in North America and Europe
Format: Citations and abstracts
Publication Dates: 1861 - present; Abstracts since 1980; Thesis abstracts since 1988
Additional Information: Covers a variety of academic topics found in dissertations and theses from institutions in the North America and Europe

DRAM

Recordings from significant independent record labels
Format: Streaming audio with text
Publication Dates: 1975 - present
Additional Information: Streaming access to nearly 2,300 albums from New World, CRI, and other labels of scholarly interest.

E

Back to top ^

Early American Imprints Series I

Books from the U.S.Colonial period through the early 19th century
Format: Full-text books, scores, and newspapers
Publication Dates: 1639 - 1819
Additional Information: More than 30,000 books on history, culture, religion, commerce, education, literature, poetry, music, politics, travel etc. from the Colonial period through the early 19th century.

Early American Imprints Series II

Books from 1801-1819 published in America
Format: Full-text books, scores, and newspapers
Publication Dates: 1801 - 1819
Additional Information: More than 35,000 books on history, culture, religion, commerce, education, literature, poetry, music, politics, travel etc.

Early American Newspapers - Digital

Newspaper articles from the Colonial Period through the Reconstruction Period
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 1690 - 1879
Additional Information: Newspaper articles on history, culture, religion, commerce, education, politics, etc. The database will eventually include more than 1 million pages from newspapers.

Early English Books Online

Books in English from 1473-1700
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 1473 - 1700
Additional Information: Books on history, culture, religion, commerce, education, literature, poetry, music, politics, travel etc. from the first book printed in English through the through the end of the 17th century. Also includes foreign language books published in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and English North America from 1473-1700.

EconLit

Comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature
Format: Citations and abstracts
Publication Dates: 1969 - present
Additional Information: Contains citations and abstracts for articles, books, and papers on topics in economics such as accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, federal regulations, labor, monetary theory, and more.

Economía y Negocios

Index to Spanish and Portuguese-language periodicals in the areas of business and economics
Format: Citations and abstracts with some full-text
Publication Dates: 1980s - present
Additional Information: Spanish and Portuguese-language periodicals published in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Spain, the United States and elsewhere

Education Full-Text

Journal articles on topics in education
Format: Citations, abstracts (1994-present), and some full-text (1996-present)
Publication Dates: 1983 - present
Additional Information: Well-indexed collection of scholarly research and information related to all levels and areas of education. Content primarily consists of articles, but also includes some books and annuals.

Education Research Complete

Journal articles on topics in education
Format: Abstracts with some full-text
Publication Dates: Varies by title ¿ mostly mid-1990's to present with some content back to the 1930's
Additional Information: Indexes more than 1,730 journals, with full text for nearly 830.Broad and current coverage of scholarly research and information related to all levels and areas of education. Content primarily consists of articles, but also includes some books and conference papers.

Encyclopædia Britannica Online

General encyclopedia with web links to reviewed sites
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: Covers topics from all eras of history
Additional Information: Includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia, and the Britannica Book of the Year.

Encyclopedia of Religion

Articles on all aspects of religion with focus on a cross-cultural approach
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 2005 (2nd edition)
Additional Information: Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as an experience from culture to culture. Over 3,300 entries are included, written by an international team of scholars and contributors.

English Poetry

Collection of historical poetry
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 600 - 1900
Additional Information: Over 165,000 English poems written and published from 600 to 1900.

English Verse Drama

Collection of English verse drama
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 1200s - 1800s
Additional Information: Over 2,200 English dramas in verse  written and published from the late late 13th to the 19th century.

Environment Complete

Full-text journals covering environmental topics
Format: Full-text and citations
Publication Dates: 1940s - present
Additional Information: Provides access to environmental science journals and books in agriculture, ecology, energy, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, geography, pollution and waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, and urban planning.  Provides full-text for more than 680 journals and 120 books.

Environmental Universe

Variety of information on environmental news, research public policy, and legal decisions
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 1975 - present
Additional Information: Provides access to environmental journal articles and abstracts, newspapers, magazines, federal and state case law documents, agency regulations, and hazardous materials information and data sheets.

ERIC

Journal articles and documents relating to education
Format: Abstracts with some linked full-text
Publication Dates: 1966 - present
Additional Information: Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, includes both journal articles and documents (research reports, teaching guides, etc.) related to education research and resources.

Ethnic NewsWatch

Full-text database of articles from ethnic, minority and native presses
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 1990 - present
Additional Information: An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full-text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses.

Europa World

Covers background political and economic information & statistics on over 250 countries
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 2003 - present
Additional Information: Enhanced comparative statistics analysis tool covering political, demographic and economic statistics.

F

Back to top ^

Factiva

Provides access to global news and business information
Format: Citations and full-text
Publication Dates: 1968 - present
Additional Information: Includes content from local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs. This is a joint venture between Dow Jones and Reuters business database companies.

Faulkner Advisory for IT Studies (FAITS)

Computer and telecommunications marketplaces
Format: Full-text technology reports
Additional Information: Follows the events and trends that affect the computer and telecommunications marketplaces.

FBIS Daily Reports: Soviet Union and Eastern Europe 1974-1996

Translated broadcasts & news from the Soviet Union and Eastern European countries
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 1974 - 1996
Additional Information: Foreign Broadcast Information Service reports of the USSR/Russia and Eastern Europe broadcasts & news, translated into English, covering the end of the Soviet Era and the transition to democracy.

First Research Online

Locate trends, forecasts and more for over 200 industries
Format: Full-text reports and profiles
Additional Information: Each industry report includes: overview, competitive landscape, products and operations, sales and marketing, recent developments, business challenges, trends and opportunities, executive perspective, interview preparation questions, financial analysis and industry forecast.

Foreign Firms Operating in the United States

Multinational business contact information
Format: Directory listings
Additional Information: Information about Foreign firms with substatial investment in American operations wholly or partially owned subsidaries, affilate, or branch.

Fuente Académica

Multi-disciplinary full-text index of Spanish and Portuguese-language scholarly journals
Format: Citations and abstracts with full-text
Publication Dates: 1920s - present
Additional Information: Over 450 scholarly journals covering all major subject areas in humanities, social sciences, sciences, and law.

G

Back to top ^

Gale Virtual Reference

Over 50 multidisciplinary encyclopedias and dictionaries
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 1990s - present
Additional Information: Over 50 multidisciplinary encyclopedias and dictionaries. New titles added regularly.

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online

Comprehensive online resource devoted to the music of all the world's peoples.
Format: Full-text articles with color images and streaming audio
Publication Dates: 1997 - 2001
Additional Information: The most complete body of work focused on world music, including over 1,200 scholarly essays and hundreds of audio examples.

Gartner

A premier source for business and technology intelligence
Format: Reports
Additional Information: Reports on trends in the information technology industry, available technologies, and analysis of products on the market, including reception by customers of the products.

Gender Watch

Collection of unique and diverse publications on women and gender issues
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 1970 - present
Additional Information: A full-text database that focuses on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With archival material dating back to 1970, GenderWatch is a repository of an important historical perspectives.

General Science Full-Text

Indexes a variety of science and social science journals
Format: Citations, abstracts, and full-text
Publication Dates: Citations: 1984 - present; Full-text: 1994 - present
Additional Information: Indexes journals from the U.S. and Great Britain, covering anthropology, astronomy, biology, computers, earth sciences, medicine and health.

GEOBASE

Worldwide literature on geography, geology, and ecology
Format: Citations and abstracts
Publication Dates: 1980 - present
Additional Information: Provides access to more than 2,000 international journals for earth sciences, geography, and ecology.  Includes peer-reviewed titles and trade publications.

Global Insight

Comprehensive coverage of U.S. financial, economic, and industry data
Format: Reports
Publication Dates: Varies
Additional Information: This database presents a selection of historical time-series data on the U.S. economy from federal agencies and private organizations. The Data Release section provides detailed analysis of 45 U.S. economic data releases, surveys, and Federal Reserve events. Analysis is available within hours of the release, and evaluates the implications of the new data for the economy and the likely impact on Global Insight's forecast.

Global Road Warrior

Business travel guide
Additional Information: Business travel guide that provides a great deal of information on each company in the world, with especially good coverage of women's status in each.

goENC

Collection of math and science materials for K-12 teachers
Format: Full-text and websites
Publication Dates: 1999 - present
Additional Information: Includes lesson plans, articles about teaching practices, curriculum resources and professional development tools. Searchable by resource type, subject and grade level.

GreenFILE

Information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment
Format: Citations and abstracts with some full-text
Publication Dates: 1913 - present
Additional Information: Provides access to journals, government publications, and magazines.  Content includes global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

Grove Art Online

Reference coverage for all aspects of the visual arts from prehistory to the present
Format: Full-text encyclopedia articles
Publication Dates: Originally published in 1996 and updated quarterly, covers prehistory to present
Additional Information: Reference coverage for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day. Content expanded from print sources of Grove Art Online and Oxford art reference.

Grove Music Online

Most authoritative English-language source of information on music
Format: Full-text articles with extensive bibliographies and lists of composers' works
Publication Dates: 2001, with periodic updates
Additional Information: Offers full-texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, with updates and emendations.

Gutenberg-e

Digital monographs in the field of historical scholarship
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 2002 - present
Additional Information: Produced by a partnership between the authors and the electronic publishing staff of Columbia University Press.

H

Back to top ^

HAPI

Indexes literature about Latin America & Hispanics in the US
Format: Citations of journals, book reviews and literary works
Publication Dates: 1970 - present
Additional Information: Latin American arts, and current political, economic, and social issues for the countries of Latin America and Hispanics in the United States. There are some links to full-text in JSTOR and on journal web sites.

Harp Week: Civil War Era

Archive collection containing volumes of Harper's Weekly magazine
Format: Full-text and images
Publication Dates: 1997 - present
Additional Information: Covers the the pre-Civil War through pre-World War I periods in American history, 1857-1912. Excellent source for information on persons, places, and events before, during, and following the Civil War and up to the start of WWI.

Health Source: Consumer Edition

Consumer health information
Format: Full-text
Additional Information: Provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.  Also includes pamphlets, definitions, and more than 130 health reference books.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

Full-text index of health care literature, particularly nursing and allied health
Format: Full-text
Additional Information: Provides full text access to nearly 550 scholarly health science journals, focusing especially on nursing and allied health.  Includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide providing patient education sheets.

Hein-On-Line

Major database for legal history, legal documents and laws
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 20th - 21st Century, some 19th Century

Historic Documents

Major documents including speeches, legislation, court cases, testimonies
Format: Citations and full-text
Publication Dates: 1972 - present

Historical Abstracts

Indexes world history resources (excludes the US and Canada)
Format: Abstracts
Publication Dates: 1969 - present
Additional Information: Index to journal articles, dissertations, and reviews of historical literature on world history, from 1450 to the present, exluding the U.S. and Canada, which are included in the American History & Life database.

History Resource Center: World

Covers topics from ancient Europe to Latin America and from the Far East to the Renaissance
Format: Full-text articles, audio, and video
Publication Dates: 1907 - present
Additional Information:

Comprehensive collection of award-winning reference, full-text articles from leading scholarly publications, an array of primary sources, and images, maps and charts which provide expansive geographic and chronlogic research materials for the study of world history.

Homeland Security Digital Library

Important federal, state and local policy documents, academic theses and reports, and national strategy documents
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 2002 - present; selected retrospective scanning and indexing going back to the 1700 s
Additional Information: Access is limited to on-campus and VPN computers. Information about obtaining an individual account may be found here.

Hoovers

Provides qualitative company profiles
Format: Reports
Additional Information: Uses Company Capsules or Company Profiles for in-depth company and industry information and financials. Also features links to news, lists, stock quotes, and other products such as Hoover's Industry Snapshots (global industry overviews).

Horn Book Guide Online

Searchable database of reviews of books for children and young adults
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 1989 - present
Additional Information: Reviews of books for young people. Includes fiction and non-fiction (all subjects areas). New reviews added each fall and spring.

Hospitality & Tourism Complete

Covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism
Format: Citations, abstracts, and full-text
Publication Dates: 1965 - present
Additional Information: Sources are both domestic and international in range and scope, with material collected from countries and regions such as Canada, Australia, Europe, and Asia. Subject areas covered include the culinary arts, demographics & statistics, development & investment, food & beverage management, hospitality law, hotel management & administrative practices, leisure & business travel, market trends, technology, and more.

Humanities Full-text

Index to journals in the general humanities
Format: Citations, abstracts, and full-text
Publication Dates: Citations: 1984 - present; Full-text: 1994 - present
Additional Information: Database includes scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Subjects covered include Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology.

Humanities International Complete

Index of journals, books and other published sources within the general humanities
Format: Citations, abstracts, and full-text
Publication Dates: 1990s - present; some coverage back to 1960s
Additional Information: Index of journals, books and other published sources within the general humanities, including worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.

I

Back to top ^

IBISWorld

Marketing reports by industry with analysis & evaluation by NAIC classification
Format: Reports
Publication Dates: updated every 4 months
Additional Information: Research reports contain trends, statistics and analysis on market size, market share of competitors, and industry growth rates. Performance analysis includes emerging industry trends as well as recent production performance and 5-year forecasts.

In the First Person

English language personal narratives (letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, oral history)
Format: Citations with some full-text
Publication Dates: 1558 - present
Additional Information: English language personal narratives, including letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, and oral histories from around the world.

International Encyclopedia of Dance

Covers all forms of dance
Format: Full-text encyclopedia
Publication Dates: First published in 1998
Additional Information: Covers the full spectrum of dance, with cultural and national overviews, entries on dance forms, music and costumes, performances, and biographies of dancers and choreographers.

International Financial Statistics Online

Economic statistics produced by the International Monetary Fund
Format: Reports and statistics
Publication Dates: 1945 - present
Additional Information: Country level data includes bank balances, financial flows, indebtedness, exchange rates, trade volumes, employment, interest rates, inflation rates, and more. World data is available for similar topics, as well as commodity prices for major internationally traded goods. Flexible interface allows choice of countries, data items, and years of coverage. Data can be output as Excel, html, delimited text files or as a PDF version of the table from the monthly publication.

International Index to Music Periodicals

Indexes scholarly and popular music journals, many with access to full-text
Format: Citations and some full-text
Publication Dates: 1874 - present
Additional Information: Indexes over 400 scholarly and popular music journals, many with access to full-text.

International Index to Performing Arts

Indexes scholarly and popular performing arts journals, many with access to full-text
Format: Citations and some full-text
Publication Dates: 1864 - present
Additional Information: Indexes over 260 scholarly and popular performing arts journals, many with access to full-text.

International Monetary Fund e-Library

Offers a wide range of economic and financial statistics
Format: Full-text
Additional Information: Contains publications from recent years as well as statistical resources: Balance of Payments, Direction of Trade, Government Finance Statistics, and International Financial Statistics.

Inter-University Consortium For Political & Social Research (ICPSR)

Archive of datasets of social, economic, & political research of US and other countries
Format: Datasets in ASCII, SPSS, SAS & Stata DTA files (also code books/documentation when applicable)
Publication Dates: Varies, includes current & historical statistical information
Additional Information: Deposited data covers such topics as: consumer behavior, the environment, social behavior, political behavior, government, conflict/war, education, healthcare, etc. To download files, you will need to create a "new user" account.  The University of Richmond is an ICPSR member, so all datasets are fully available to UR students, faculty and staff.

Investor's Business Daily

Continuously updated investment information
Format: Full-text
Additional Information: Password required - contact the Main Service Desk.

iPOLL

National US public opinion polls on a variety of topics
Format: Poll results and questionnaires
Publication Dates: 1935 - Present
Additional Information: Archive of public opinion polls from the last 65 years covering such topics as: economics, education, elections, environment, foreign countries, health, immigration, politics, political figures, welfare, etc. Requires a University of Richmond email address to access information.

ITER

Index for European culture AD 400 - 1700
Format: Index
Publication Dates: 1997 - present
Additional Information: Online bibliography to the study of the European Middle Ages and Renaissance periods from 400-1700. Records in the database are drawn from the Renaissance Society of America, the University of Toronto Centre for Reformation and Renaissance Studies, and the Arizona Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies at Arizona State University.

J

Back to top ^

Jazz Music Library

Historical and current jazz recordings
Format: Streaming audio with text
Publication Dates: 1924 - present
Additional Information: Streaming access to over 19,000 jazz tracks from the 1920s to the present.

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism

Encyclopedia of literary theory and criticism
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: Most recent edition
Additional Information: Historical surveys of  field's most important figures, schools, and movements. Also treats figures who did not explicitly deal with, but who still deeply affected, literature, literary theory, or literary criticism, as well as figures and kinds of inquiry from other fields that have been shaped by or have themselves shaped literary theory (e.g. Marx).

Journal Citation Reports

Used for journal evaluation based on citation data
Format: Citations only; no full-text
Publication Dates: 1991 - Present
Additional Information: Includes number of articles published in the journal for a given year, number of citations to that journal from articles published during that year; and the impact factor calculated from the year. Uses citation data drawn from scholarly and technical journals worldwide. Provides indicators for how frequently current researchers are using individual journals; information on highest impact journal in a field, most frequently cited journal, or largest journal within in a field.

JSTOR

Archive of scholarly journal literature
Format: Full-text and full image
Publication Dates: Varies by title; current within 3-5 years
Additional Information: Interdisciplinary journal archive of titles in the arts, botany, business, ecology, general science, history, mathematics, and the social sciences. Many journal runs go back to the 19th century and before with subject coverage going back to the medieval period and up to within 3-5 years of current (depending on journal title). Coverage is constantly expanding with the addition of more scholarly journals to the collection.  Moving wall publishes to within 3-5 years of most titles that are still in publication.

K

Back to top ^

L

Back to top ^

L'Annee Philologique

Indexes literature in the fields of Greek and Latin linguistics, archaeology, history, mythology, religion and palaeography
Format: Index to periodical articles, conference papers, book articles, and reviews. Full-text, browsing access to the latest volume of the bibliography.
Publication Dates: 1949 - 2006
Additional Information: Citations are in English, French, Italian, German, and Spanish.

Legal Collection

Index of law journals
Format: Abstracts with some full-text
Additional Information: Current issues, legal studies, scholarly arguments, and trends of the legal world.

Lexis-Nexis Academic

Full-text of major newspapers with separate resources for environment, government, statistics, and legal information
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: Varies by title; Most news coverage begins in the late 1970s
Additional Information: Online access to current and back issues of major newspapers, journals, newsletters, and news sources from around the world.  Full-text of legal materials (court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more). Congressional information back to 1789.

LISTA

Resource providing coverage on all aspects of librarianship, information retrieval and information management
Format: Citations, abstracts and full-text
Publication Dates: Varies by title, some with coverage 1960s - present
Additional Information: Index to over 600 periodicals providing coverage on all aspects of librarianship, information retrieval and information management.

Literary Market Place

Guide to the book trade and publishing
Format: Directory information only
Publication Dates: Updated at least annually, more often if needed
Additional Information: American and Canadian book publishing industry. Information on publishers, agents, awards, etc.

Literature Resource Center

Biographies, overviews, and critical analysis of literary topics, authors, and their works
Format: Full-text
Additional Information: Biographical sketches of over 130,000 authors and critical articles on over 2,000 authors from all times and places, and on their works. Includes essays from reference works, journals, and books. Content covers numerous centuries, mainly 20th and some 19th.

M

Back to top ^

Masterplots (MagillOnLiterature Plus)

Plot summaries, author biographies, and character sketches
Format: Full-text
Additional Information: Allows you to search by the title of the work; author name, gender, and cultural or national identity; character name, genre; and the locale in which the work takes place. Search terms are highlighted in the text retrieved and the results may be printed, saved, or emailed.

MathSciNet

Comprehensive index to mathematics literature
Format: Citations, abstracts, and reviews
Publication Dates: 1800s - present
Additional Information: Provides access to citations, abstracts, and reviews for much of the mathematical sciences literature.   100,000+ items are added annually and classified by the Mathematics Subject Classification.  40,000+ reviews are added each year.  Citation data is also provided.

McKinsey Quarterly

Management research from a leading consulting organization
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 1993 - present

MedicLatina

Index of Spanish & Portuguese-language medical research & investigatory journals with some full-text
Format: Citations and abstracts with some full-text
Publication Dates: 1926 - present
Additional Information: Medical research and investigatory journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers. Includes 130 peer-reviewed medical journals in Spanish.

Medline

Comprehensive index to biomedical literature
Format: Citations and abstracts
Publication Dates: 1946 - present
Additional Information: Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Also encompasses those areas of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering needed by health professionals and others engaged in basic research and clinical care, public health, health policy development, or related educational activities. Covers life sciences vital to biomedical practitioners, researchers, and educators, including aspects of biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science as well as biophysics and chemistry.

Mergent Horizon

A system for organizing information about companies and industries
Format: Full-text reports and statistics
Publication Dates: 1996 - present
Additional Information: Comprehensive coverage is provided for all companies that are actively traded on the NYSE, AMEX, and NASDAQ, with enhanced product-level detail for 3,700 companies in the Healthcare, Technology, Media, and Finance sectors. [more information and basic help]

Mergent Online

Corporate financial database that provides information on U.S. and international companies
Format: Full-text reports and statistics
Publication Dates: 1996 - present
Additional Information: Provides comprehensive company research, including financial statement data (current and historical), annual reports, company histories, subsidiaries, joint ventures, and more. [more information]

Mergent WebReports

Access to comprehensive global company information
Format: Full-text reports and statistics
Publication Dates: 1909 - present
Additional Information: Provides electronic access to all Moody's/Mergent manuals ever published. Includes data and reports on over 15,000 U.S. companies.

Military & Government Collection

Index of current news pertaining to all branches of the military & government
Format: Index
Publication Dates: Varies by title

Mintel Reports

Research reports covering the global marketplace (longer reports for US and Western Europe)
Format: Research reports
Additional Information: Mintel offers a series of research reports covering the US and European marketplace. Each market research report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis and consumer profiles. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market.

MLA Bibliography

Indexes scholarship on literature, language, linguistics and folklore
Format: Citations only; some links to full-text
Publication Dates: 1926 - present
Additional Information: Literature, language, and folklore from all regions of the world from the late Middle Ages to the present. Covers books, articles, and dissertations. Best place to start for language and literature research.

Morningstar Document Research

Includes data from various US public and international firms' annual reports [formerly called 10K Wizard]
Format: Company reports
Publication Dates: 1996 - present
Additional Information: Delivers more than 1,100 data elements derived from the Income Statement, Balance Sheet, and Statement of Cash Flow, which are displayed in Annual, Quarterly, and Trailing Twelve month views. Older, free reports available from Mergent.

Morningstar Investment Research Center

Stock and fund research service
Format: Mutual funds, stocks, financial analyst reports
Publication Dates: Updated daily
Additional Information: User Guide

Music Index Online

Indexes scholarly and popular music journals; no full-text
Format: Citations only
Publication Dates: 1979 - present
Additional Information: Indexes over 875 scholarly and popular music journals; no full-text.

Music-In-Print

Searchable index of published music (mostly classical) currently available for purchase

Music Online: Listening PLUS

Over 400,000 audio tracks, 400,000 scores, 100,000 pages of music reference, and over 500 hours of video
Format: Streaming audio & video
Publication Dates: Late-Classical through 21st century
Additional Information: Incorporates content from American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, and Smithsonian Global Sound.

N

Back to top ^

National Bureau of Economic Research Working Papers

Papers on economic research
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 1994 - present
Additional Information: NBER Working Papers have not undergone the review accorded official NBER publications; in particular, they have not been submitted for approval by the Board of directors. They are intended to make results of NBER research available to other economists in preliminary form to encourage discussion and suggestions for revision before final publication.

National Journal

Major news source covering US politics & all branches of the US government
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 1977 - present
Additional Information: Provides in-depth coverage of US political news, branches of government, foreign affairs, economy & campaigns.

netLibrary

Fully searchable full-text books online
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: Varies by title - most 1990s-present publications
Additional Information: Collection of electronic books from a wide range of subjects. UR's netLibrary collection consists of nearly 20,000 titles.

New York Times Historical Newspapers

Full-text of the New York Times since 1851
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 1851 - 2006
Additional Information: Some 3.5 million pages are included with illustrations and graphics. Additional years will be added as they are digitized.

Newspaper Abstracts

Resource covering over 50 national and regional newspapers
Format: Citations and abstracts
Publication Dates: 1989 - present, updated weekly

Newspaper Source Plus

Resource covering national & international newspapers
Format: Citations, abstracts, and full-text
Publication Dates: Varies by title, 1980s - present
Additional Information: National & international newspapers, television & radio news transcripts

North American Industry Classification System

Differentiates types of businesses
Format: Index
Additional Information: The standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries

Comprehensive bibliography of women's diaries and letters
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 1675 - 1950
Additional Information: Diaries and correspondence represent are all age groups and life stages, all ethnicities, many geographical regions and the famous and the not so famous.

O

Back to top ^

Occupational Information Network Resource Center

The online version of the Dictionary of Occupational Titles (DOT)

Opera in Video

A selection of opera performances
Format: Streaming video
Publication Dates: 1956 - present
Additional Information: Streaming access to over 40 fully-staged opera performances, plus interviews and documentaries.

Oxford Companion to American Theatre

Standard one-volume source on American theatre
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 1984, rev. 2004
Additional Information: Includes playwrights, plays, actors, directors, producers, songwriters, famous playhouses, dramatic movements, and much more.

Oxford Companion to Shakespeare

Guide to Shakespeare's plays and poems
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 2001
Additional Information: Guide to Shakespeare's plays and poems, and their interpretation around the world over the last four centuries.

Oxford Companion to the American Musical

Reference work covering American musical theatre
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 2008
Additional Information: Offers information on musicals, performers, composers, lyricists, producers, choreographers, and much more

Oxford Dictionary of Dance

A comprehensive dictionary compiled by two leading authorities on dance
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 2000
Additional Information: Offers wide coverage of dancers, choreographers, teachers, composers, technical terms, major works, important films, and organizations involved in the dance world.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States

Entries on topics such as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 2004
Additional Information: Encompases the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance

Information about theatre and performance around the world and throughout history
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 2003
Additional Information: Covers dance, opera, radio, film, television, and popular performance, including carnivals, circus, and public executions.

Oxford English Dictionary

Searchable text of the 22-volume OED
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 2005 (continuously updated)
Additional Information: Comprehensive etymological dictionary of the English language; searchable by date, source, meaning, part of speech, cited author or work, etc.

Oxford Language Dictionaries

Unabridged bilingual dictionaries
Publication Dates: Continuously updated
Additional Information: Unabridged bilingual dictionaries for French, German, Spanish, Italian, and Russian, with contextualized language reference help.

Oxford Reference Online

Core collection of titles from the Oxford series of reference books
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: Varies by title, 2002 - present
Additional Information: Includes over 120 reference books covering art, the sciences, literature, history, law, the performing arts, religion, computing, economics and business, general reference, and much more.

Oxford Scholarship: Religion

Electronic books of original scholarship in all areas of religion and theology
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 1963 - present
Additional Information: In addition to major recent titles, the list also includes classic works of enduring influence.

P

Back to top ^

PAIS (1972-Current)

Major index of research on political & public policies of national and international scope
Format: Abstracts
Publication Dates: 1972 - current
Additional Information: Focused on political, social & public policy research published in scholarly articles, government documents, conference proceedings and books.

PAIS with Archive (1915-Current)

Format: Abstracts
Publication Dates: 1915 - current

PapersFirst

Citations of papers presented at conferences
Format: Citations
Publication Dates: 1993 - present; updated semi-monthly
Additional Information: Resource that indexes every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre.

Passport GMID

Provides key business intelligence on countries, markets, and companies
Format: Analysis & statistical reports
Additional Information: Provides users with historical statistics and forecasts, analysis of consumers' lifestyles, information sources, brand and company information, plus full-text market analysis. Users are required to read and accept the Terms and Conditions in order to access this resource.

Past Portal

Materials in the Colonial Williamsburg Library
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 2000 - present
Additional Information: Versions of rare books, manuscripts, drawings, newspapers, and reports of buildings and people from 18th century and early 19th century Williamsburg, Virginia. Contains the complete run of the colonial newspaper, The Virginia Gazette, to 1870. [tips for users]

Patrologiæ Græcæ Electronic

Greek material relevant to the study of the history of the Christian Church
Format: Digital images of facing columns of text in Greek and Latin
Publication Dates: original edited text produced 1857-1866
Additional Information: Contains more than 160 volumes of Greek material (with Latin translations) relevant to the study of the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439.

Periodicals Index Online

International index to periodicals in the humanities & social sciences
Format: Citations
Publication Dates: 1665 - present
Additional Information: Provides access to article citations from publications in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages.

Philosopher's Index

Covers scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy
Format: Citations and abstracts
Publication Dates: 1940 - present
Additional Information: Features author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals and books, including contributions to anthologies and book reviews.

Play Index Online

Index to plays published in collections or periodicals
Format: Citations
Publication Dates: 1949 - present
Additional Information: Index to plays published in collections or periodicals.  Searchable by genre, characteristics, cast, and subject, in addition to author and title.

Political Science Abstracts

Expansive index of information in political studies, including behavior & policy research
Format: Abstracts
Publication Dates: 1975 - present
Additional Information: Includes information on political behavior, international relations, law, public administration and public policy from scholarly journals and some government & NGO reports.

Polling the Nations

Archive of international public opinion polls
Format: Full-text of questions and poll results
Publication Dates: 1986 - present
Additional Information: Public opinion data from the US and 80 other countries on social issues, political controversies, international relations, politicians, religion, sports, business, etc.

ProceedingsFirst

Index of conference publications
Format: Citations
Publication Dates: 1993 - present
Additional Information: Citation index of worldwide conference proceedings. Covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre. Contains in each record a list of the papers presented at each conference.

Project Muse

Resource of journals in humanities, social sciences, & mathematics
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 1993 - present
Additional Information: Coverage of journal articles in the fields of literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics.

ProQuest Historical Annual Reports

Annual reports from America's leading industries, manufacturers, insurance, etc.
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 1844 - present

ProQuest Historical Newspapers

Archives of six national papers of record and five historically Black papers
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: Varies by title
Additional Information: Archives of Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Atlanta Constitution, Chicago Defender, New York Amsterdam News, Pittsburgh Courier, Atlanta Daily World, and Los Angeles Sentinel

PsycBOOKS

Full text of over 1,800 classic and current psychology books
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 1600s - present
Additional Information: Contains 1,805 books,1,027 classic resources in psychology, and more than 1,500 authored entries from the Encyclopedia of Psychology.

PsycINFO

Journal articles and other research literature in psychology and related disciplines
Format: Citations, abstracts, and some linked full-text
Publication Dates: 1806 - present; very few records prior to 1890
Additional Information: International index to journal articles, book chapters and books, dissertations and technical reports related to all areas of psychology and related disciplines.

Public Broadcasting System (PBS) Videos

Streaming videos originally broadcast on PBS
Format: Streaming video
Additional Information: Use to find video clips for presentations and other projects. Includes several of Ken Burns' series, American Experience, Scientific American Frontiers, and many others.

Q

Back to top ^

R

Back to top ^

Readers Guide Full-text

Resource for general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada
Format: Citations, abstracts, and selected full-text
Publication Dates: Citations: 1983 - present; abstracts: 1984 - present; selected full-text: 1994 - present

Reference Universe

Index to entries in reference sources owned by Boatwright Library
Format: Citations
Publication Dates: 1980 - present; varies by title
Additional Information: Searches index terms and article titles for electronic and print reference sources in the Boatwright Library collection.

ReferenceUSA International Businesses

Full-text data and reports on 3 million companies worldwide
Format: Reports and data
Publication Dates: 1995 - present
Additional Information: Find in-depth company profiles on 3 million international companies, including key executives and detailed financial information. Great for research on large companies and their foreign parents and subsidiaries.

Regional Business News

Articles from regional business publications
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 1990 - present; varies by title
Additional Information: Comprehensive coverage of more than 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

Religion & Philosophy Collection

A broad selection of scholarly publications in religion and philosophy
Format: Citations, abstracts, and full-text
Publication Dates: 1975 - present
Additional Information: Extensive coverage of topics including world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, and the history of philosophy.

Religious & Theological Abstracts

Objective summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of Religion and Theology
Format: Abstracts
Publication Dates: 1948 - present
Additional Information: Includes a wide variety of journal literature, including Christian, Jewish, and other World religions. English language abstracts of articles are provided in Hebrew, Afrikaans, and major European languages.

Richmond Daily Dispatch

Newspaper digital archive from November 1860 to December 1865
Format: Full text digital scans of articles
Publication Dates: Nov. 1860 - Dec. 1865
Additional Information: The Richmond Daily Dispatch is the result of a National Leadership Grant from the Institute of Museum and Library Services, and collaboration between the University of Richmond, Tufts University's Perseus Project, and the Virginia Center for Digital History. There are currently 1384 issues of the paper available online.

Richmond Times-Dispatch Archives

Full-text of articles from the Richmond Times Dispatch since 1985
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 1985 - present

RILM Abstracts of Music

Indexes scholarly writing on music, with some links to full-text
Format: Citations with abstracts and limited full-text
Publication Dates: 1967 - present
Additional Information: Coverage includes journal articles, dissertations, book chapters, and conference proceedings.

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Covers the full range of philosophical subject matter
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 1998 with quarterly updates
Additional Information: Includes a wide breadth of subject matter, including Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy. Great place to find explanations of a philosopher or philosophical school.

S

Back to top ^

Safari Books Online

Electronic books in computer science and information technology
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 1986 - present
Additional Information: An electronic library of books published by O'Reilly, Pearson, and other IT and business publishers on computer science, information technology, emerging trends, and related fields.

Salud en Español

Spanish-language version of Consumer Health Complete
Format: Citations and abstracts with some full-text
Additional Information: Covers all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.

Science Citation Index

Comprehensive citation index to scholarly scientific journals
Format: Citations and abstracts
Publication Dates: 1991 - present
Additional Information: Data from over 3,700 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals across 100 disciplines, including agricultural, biological, and environmental sciences, engineering, technology, applied science, medical and life sciences, and physical and chemical sciences.  Provides "cited reference searching" to locate articles citing an earlier publication – allowing you to navigate forward in time from a key article.

SciFinder Scholar

Comprehensive research tool used to locate and process information on a wide variety of chemistry-related topics
Format: Citations and abstracts; patents; structure, spectral data
Additional Information: The electronic version of Chemical Abstracts, SciFinder Scholar allows structure, substance, and patent searching as well as citation searching in chemistry, the biomedical sciences, physics, engineering, materials science, and agricultural science.  Includes Medline. [First Time Users]

Short Story Criticism (Literature Criticism Online)

Scholarly and popular short story criticism
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 1987 - present
Additional Information: Criticism taken from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers and scholarly journals. Easy to reformat content for viewing and printing.

SimplyMap

Mapping application for developing interactive thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data variables
Format: User-generated maps & reports
Publication Dates: Most recent census & previous year market data
Additional Information: A web-based mapping application that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. Requires each user to create a personal workspace in order to use this resource.

Social Explorer

Excellent, easy-to-use resource on demographics in the United States
Format: Web-based maps & downloadable statistics
Publication Dates: Varies, 1790 - present
Additional Information: Generate in-depth statistics and interactive maps of the US population down to the county level, covering topics such as: race, sex, religion, immigration, etc.

Social Science Citation Index

Index to scholarly journal articles in the social sciences
Format: Citations and abstracts
Publication Dates: 1991 - present
Additional Information: Comprehensive citation index to peer reviewed scholarly journals in 50 social sciences disciplines. Excellent coverage of articles' cited references and times cited.

Social Science Full-text

Broadest resource of scholarly research on human cultural, social, environmental and political behaviors
Format: Full-text, abstracts, and citations
Publication Dates: Full-text & abstracts: 1995 - present; Citations: 1907 - present
Additional Information: Covers a variety of social sciences including: Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Criminology, Economics, Environmental Studies, Ethics, Family Studies, Gender Studies, Geography, Gerontology, International Relations, Minority Studies, Policy Sciences, Political Science, Psychology, Public Welfare, Social Work, and Sociology.

Social Science Research Network (SSRN)

Repository of scholarly papers and abstracts in the social sciences
Format: Abstracts with some full-text
Publication Dates: Varies
Additional Information: Repository of working papers and submitted abstracts intended for early distribution of research results in social science disciplines. Most of the full-text papers can be downloaded for free. Those with $ signs should be checked for availability in Journal Locator.

Sociological Abstracts

Index to journal articles and other research literature in sociology and related fields
Format: Citations and abstracts (1974 - present)
Publication Dates: 1952 - present
Additional Information: International index of journal articles, dissertations, books, book chapters and conference papers on sociology and related topics in social and behavioral sciences.

SourceOECD

Economics, trade, international banking and development on the major world economies
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 1998 - present
Additional Information: SourceOECD is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. The OECD consists of 30 member countries sharing a commitment to democratic government and the market economy.

Special Issues

Contains editorial calendars, special issues and content from trade and industrial magazine websites
Additional Information: Password required - contact the Main Service Desk.

Sports Business Research Network (SBRnet)

Focuses on the sporting goods and sports marketing industry
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 1995 - present
Additional Information: Provides a continuously updated resource featuring market research and industry news covering all facets of the industry: sports equipment sales, sports participation, sports broadcasting, sport

Standard & Poors NetAdvantage

Stock reports, industry surveys and corporation records for the U.S., Europe, Asia, & Latin America
Additional Information: Includes Stock Reports, Industry Surveys, Corporation Records, Poor's Register, the Outlook Newsletter and the Stock and Bond Guides.

Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) System Search

Still used in Europe & Asia, the code is frequently updated and supplemented by the NAIC

Standard Rate & Data Service Publications (SRDS)

Provides data listing advertising costs in several media areas as well as an interactive service on local market analysis, the Local Market Analyst Overview
Format: Reports
Additional Information: Search results in SRDS give you a brief description of the publication, circulation figures, rates for advertising in the publication and contact information. Results will also list any regularly scheduled special issues. Results can be printed or copied into a Word document. The service does not provide an easy way to download data for comparison, however.

STAT USA

Extensive collection of US and international economic and trade information
Format: Full-text and statistics
Publication Dates: Varies
Additional Information: Comprehensive access to business, trade and economic information from the US government; covering US & international statistics. Requires a user id and password available at the Boatwright Library main service desk.  This information can only be acquired in-person according to the Department of Commerce.

Statistical (Lexis-Nexis)

Comprehensive index to US & International statistical data
Format: Abstracts and some full-text
Publication Dates: Varies by title
Additional Information: Index to statistical publications and tables from US & state governments, intergovernmental organizations, institutes and universities. Includes the full-text of some US statistical resources.

T

Back to top ^

Theatre in Video

A selection of theater performances
Format: Streaming video
Publication Dates: 1944 - 2003
Additional Information: Streaming access to more than 250 performances of the world's leading plays plus over 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video.

Thesaurus Linguæ Græcæ

Greek literature from Homer to AD 1453
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: Original texts since antiquity; updates to database quarterly
Additional Information: Designed as a searchable linguistic database, not a browsable library. Each user needs to select a username and password of their choice to access this resource. When setting up a brand new account, a second screen will ask for some further information. After that initial set up, a user need only enter their username and password.

Thomas Register of American Manufacturers

Search company-to-product or product-to-company, includes company catalogs
Additional Information: Useful for choosing and evaluating supplier opportunities. Full product on a computer in Boatwright Main Library.

Times Digital Archives, 1785-1985

Archives of the Times of London newspaper
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 1785 - 1985
Additional Information: Complete archive in facsimile of the original newspaper covering general news, culture, fine arts, politics, history, and more.

U

Back to top ^

UCLA Anderson Forecast Member Zone

Economic forecasts for nation and California presented in conference format by leading economists
Additional Information: Password required - contact the Main Service Desk.

Ulrich's Serials Directory

Bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals
Format: Directory listings
Publication Dates: Updated with revisions weekly
Additional Information: Bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types — academic and scholarly journals, Open Access publications, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more from around the world. Directory information includes a notation as to journal type.  This is an excellent resource to use to find out if a journal is scholarly and/or peer-reviewed.

V

Back to top ^

Value Line Investment Survey

Reports and analysis of stocks and mutual funds
Format: Text, graphs, and interactive data
Publication Dates: Includes the current issue and 12 back issues
Additional Information: Evaluates and ranks the most investable stocks individually and by industry as well as provides investment advice on the New York Stock Exchange.

Vente et Gestion

Index to French-language periodicals in the areas of business and economics
Format: Citations and abstracts with some full-text
Publication Dates: 1976 - present
Additional Information: French language publications covering topics such as accounting & tax, administration, industry & manufacturing, marketing, logistics, technology and others.

Virginia Heritage Project

Location tool for archival collections in Virginia
Format: Index of archival finding aids
Publication Dates: 2001 - present
Additional Information: Manuscripts and archives in Virginia dealing with African-American history, the Civil War, individuals in local cities, towns, and counties, and government and politics. Database includes partial archival collections from the University of Virginia, the Library of Virginia, College of William and Mary, Virginia Tech., Virginia State University, Old Dominion University, James Madison University Virginia Military Institute, and the Virginia Historical Society.

W

Back to top ^

Wall Street Transcript Security

Reports and comments of Wall Street experts and CEO/Company interviews for 1997
Additional Information: Hard copy back files are shelved with periodicals. Password required - contact the Main Service Desk.

Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies

Basic information about companies and rankings of U.S. companies by sales size
Publication Dates: 2009 52nd Edition
Additional Information: Contains information about individual companies with the ability generate lists of companies, such as all companies within an industry in a specific state. Data includes sales, number of employees, chief officers and industry codes.

Web of Science

Citation index to scholarly journals in the liberal arts & sciences
Format: Citations and abstracts
Publication Dates: 1991 - present
Additional Information: Comprehensive citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage. The database covers approximately 160 disciplines ranging from Agriculture to Zoology. Includes Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Science Citation Index Expanded.

Who's Who On The Web

Biographies of more than 1 million individuals in all walks of life
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 1995 - present
Additional Information: Includes the following directories: Who's Who in America, Who's Who in the World, Who's Who in American Women, Who's Who in Finance and Industry, Who's Who in American Law, Who's Who in Medicine and Healthcare, Who's Who in Science and Engineering

Wilson Web

Search for articles in a variety of online databases
Format: Citations, abstracts, and some full-text
Publication Dates: Varies by database
Additional Information: Search interface that provides access to all Wilson databases available at the University of Richmond, including: Book Review Digest, General Science Full-Text, Readers' Guide, Business Full-Text, Art Full-text, Social Sciences Full-Text, Education Full-Text and Humanities Full-Text.

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000

Documents relating to the role of women in movements throughout American history
Format: Full-text documents, reviews, and discussion tools
Publication Dates: 1600 - 2000
Additional Information: More than 35,000 pages pertaining to women and social movements, in addition to dictionaries, chronologies, and teaching tools. Includes the Women's Commission reports collection, an archive of the publications and documents of local, state, and federal Commissions on the Status of Women from 1963 to the present.

Women's Studies International

Index of core disciplines in women's studies
Format: Citations, abstracts, and some full-text
Publication Dates: 1972 - present
Additional Information: Feminist research in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education.

World Almanac

Popular reference source for fast facts, biographies, encyclopedia entries, and statistics
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: Annually
Additional Information: Includes Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia, The World Almanac and Book of Facts, The World Almanac of the U.S.A., The World Almanac of U.S. Politics, and The World Almanac for Kids.

World Bank e-library

Collection of World Bank publications
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 1987 - present
Additional Information: A portal to over 4,500 World Bank documents on international and country-specific economic, development, and environmental issues. The collection consists of over 1,800 World Bank publications and over 2,700 Policy Research Working Papers.

World Bank Global Development Finance (GDF)

Debt and financial flow indicators
Format: Research reports
Publication Dates: 1970 - present
Additional Information: Provides a comprehensive view of prospects from the global economy along with the implications for developing countries' external finance. Presents detailed data for 137 countries that report public and publicly guaranteed debt under the World Bank Debtor Reporting System. Internal debt stocks and flows, major economic aggregates, and debt restructuring are provided for 1970, 1980, 1990, and 1993 through 1999.

World Bank Global Economic Monitor (GEM)

Current economic trends along with economic, financial, and commodity data indicators
Format: Reports
Publication Dates: Updated daily
Additional Information: Features up-to-date analysis on global economic conditions, including a daily brief and event-driven focus reports, direct access to high-frequency datasets via Quick Query, forecasts for commodity prices and main macroeconomic indicators for over 130 countries.

World Bank World Development Indicators (WDI)

Development indicators for various countries
Format: Reports
Publication Dates: 1960 - present
Additional Information: Provides more than 550 times series covering demographic, social, economic, financial, natural resources and environmental topics for more than 200 countries and 18 country groups. You can choose several ways of displaying the data: index, percentage change, and graphs, and can export the result in standard formats.

World News Connection

English translations of foreign radio & television broadcasts
Format: Full-text
Publication Dates: 1995 - present
Additional Information: Provides in-depth coverage of non-US media broadcasts over a wide variety of current events, from 1995 to present. Only one user permitted at a time.

World Who's Who

Over 60,000 biographies world-wide of the leading figures from all fields and subjects
Format: Full-text biographical sketches
Publication Dates: 2007 - present
Additional Information: Continuously updated biographical information on the world's most eminent figures.

WorldCat

Catalog of books and other resources in libraries worldwide
Format: Citations
Publication Dates: Before 1000 BC to present, updated daily
Additional Information: Comprehensive catalog of libraries from around the world. Contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries.  Information is included on library holdings and where items are located, included if UR owns the item. Catalog entries include information on books, films and slides, manuscripts, musical scores, digital media, and other formats.

X

Back to top ^

Y

Back to top ^

Z

Back to top ^