Richmond Home

James E. Gwin Student Employee Recognition Award

Daisy Chan
Daisy Chan, 2020 James E. Gwin Award Recipient

The Boatwright Memorial Library employs approximately a hundred students each academic year. Our student employees provide an array of services, including technological services, preservation and conservation work, customer service, and for information assistance. Each year Boatwright Memorial Library staff members are encouraged to nominate student employees who consistently demonstrate the following characteristics in their job performance: dependability, flexibility, enthusiasm, excellent quality work performed, and the desire to serve the library, the university, and the community. Creativity, initiative and/or job performance above the call of duty may be deciding factors in choosing the recipient. The recipient receives $1000 and a recognition plaque during National Student Employment Week, which is a week designated to honor and recognize the contributions of all student employees. Boatwright Memorial Library takes time to recognize all student employees and the services they provide during that week.

Past Recipients

2000 Katharine Alice Jollon 2012 Matthew Guarino
2000 Rukeitha Mae Booker 2013 Matthew Gizzi
2001 Kristin Elizabeth Johnson 2014 Maxwell Payeur
2002 Stacey E. Machonis 2015 Jackie Palmer
2003 Elijah Torres 2016 Amy Shick
2004 Brian A. Ellis 2017 Lily Calacay
2005 Joanita Senoga 2018 Noah Clarke
2006 Matthew Lonnquest 2019 Daniel Simon
2007 Lindsey Brewer 2020 Daisy Chan
2008 William Powell III
2009 Christine Schwartz
2010 Jason Foreman
2011 Michael Weigle