James W. Jackson Award for Excellence in Library Research in the Social Sciences

Purpose and Eligibility

The purpose of the award is to recognize and encourage excellence in the use of library research skills in the social sciences (Economics & Management, Education, Environmental Studies, Global Studies, History, School of Leadership Studies, Journalism, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology and Anthropology, Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies).

Upper division students are eligible, based on a research project completed during the spring semester of the academic year or during the calendar year. Papers previously submitted are ineligible.

The winning paper should demonstrate a depth and breadth of effective use of research materials in the social sciences and clear evidence of thoughtful command of these resources. Excellent research projects which do not make significant use of library research materials (e.g., experimental projects) cannot, regrettably, be considered. Undergraduate honors theses are not eligible for the Jackson Award.


Nominations must be made by a faculty member. Each faculty member may nominate one or two students by submitting their research paper(s). The deadline for submission will be announced during the Spring semester.

Please submit all papers via e-mail to JacksonAward@richmond.edu. No written recommendation required; just attach the paper in PDF or Word format. Make sure to include the student’s name.

2020 Deadline (*Revised*): May 1, 2020 at 12pm EDT

Members of the Faculty Senate University Libraries Faculty Committee will serve on the Jackson Award Committee. Together with the Government Information Librarian and the Social Sciences Librarian, they will read the entries and determine a winner. For more information, email JacksonAward@richmond.edu or University Librarian Kevin Butterfield at kbutterf@richmond.edu.


The award consists of a check for $1000 and the winner's name will be inscribed on a plaque in Boatwright Memorial Library.

2020 James W. Jackson Award Winner - Ellie Owen

Ellie Owen

Past Jackson Recipients

1984 Brian M. Sheahan 1985 Catharine N. Morrison 1986 Jeanette K. Williams
1987 Paula L. Domenici 1988 Mary Delicate 1989 Kate Ravenel
1990 Robbin F. Kohler 1991 James H. Carter, IV 1992 Robert Bennett
1993 Jonathan S. Marashlian 1994 Sean P. Byrne 1995 Daniel F. Diffley
1996 Jeffrey K. Staton 1997 Melanie Ann Bailey 1998 Kelly J. Schoeffel
1999 Marianne Wilson 2000 Jennifer A. Gaines 2001 Elizabeth J. Peiffer
2002 Rachel Finer 2003 John Kevin Dunn, Jr. 2004 Heather Lynn McQueen
2005 Nicholas Klaiber 2006 William Wilkes 2007 Amy Bradshaw
2008 Chris Cotten 2009 Jacob Johnson 2010 Kelly Behrend
2011 Marianne Williams 2012 Sarah Fishman 2013 Edward Beach
2014 Kate Lawrenz 2015 Solee Park 2016 Grace DeVries
2017 Carly Sibilia 2018 Helen Richardson 2019 Kay Dervishi
2020 Ellie Owen