The Edward C. and Mary S. Peple Lecture

The Edward C. and Mary S. Peple Lectureship on Libraries and Information Science brings to the University of Richmond visiting scholars to speak about issues relating to the library, publications, and related matters among the entire University community. Students will receive an added dimension to their educational experience at the University, and other members of the University of Richmond faculty and the local community will benefit from the expertise of their presentations.

As founders and charter members of The Friends of Boatwright Memorial Libraries, both Ed and Mary served several terms on the executive council and helped organize and chair the first Book Sale in 1979 and for many years after. In recognition of their many contributions, the Friends made the lecture series possible in 1989 with an initial endowment gift of $10,000. It has since increased as a result of earnings and additional contributions to the endowment.

Dr. Peple's ties to the University of Richmond go back to his days as an undergraduate at Richmond College, where he was a member of the class of 1932. He went on to Harvard University, where he received a master's degree in 1934 and a doctorate in 1936. After teaching at Wells College, he returned to the University of Richmond in 1937 to teach English. He served as dean of the Graduate School from 1965-74 and as associate provost from 1974-78.

He retired in 1978 as professor of English, emeritus, but maintained close ties to the University of Richmond through his work as a member of the University of Richmond Board of Associates and active involvement in the Friends of the Boatwright Memorial Library.

Mary Peple passed away on March 9, 2003. Ed followed her on August 2, 2005.

Cynthia Kierner 2021
N/A 2020
Charles F. Bryan 2019
Shahan Mufti 2018
Matthew Desmond 2017
Scott Simon 2016
Elizabeth Brown Pryor 2015
Mary Miley Theobald 2014
David Weinberger, Ph.D 2013
Michael Suarez, S. J. 2012
Dr. Christopher Catherwood 2011
Dr. Larry Sabato 2010
N/A 2009
Dr. Edward Ayers 2008
Paul Dickson 2007
Dr. Marita Golden 2006
James Srodes 2005
Dr. Nelson D. Lankford 2004
Dr. George Garrett 2003
Dr. Bertram Wyatt-Brown 2002
Geoffrey T. Freeman 2001
Dr. Alan Cheuse 2000
Dr. William E. Cooper 1999
Rex Scouten 1998
A.E. Dick Howard 1997
Dr. Lesley Lee Francis 1996
Jonathan Yardley 1995
Charles McDowell 1994
Paul Duke 1993
Dr. Louis D. Rubin, Jr. 1992
Dr. James MacGregor Burns 1991
Tom Wolfe 1990

For information on the latest Peple lecture, please return to the Friends' main page, where all lecture events for the current academic year are advertised.